IAIA - Institute of American Indian Arts

Board of Trustees

Click on the names below for a brief biography of each member.

Loren Kieve

Loren Kieve (Cherokee), Chair

San Francisco, CA
Kieve is the principal of Kieve Law Offices, a practice that focuses on complex domestic and international disputes and legal problems.

Perry Eaton

Bidtah N. Becker (Navajo)

Fort Defiance, AZ
Becker is Assistant Attorney General for the Natural Resources Unit of the Navajo Nation Department of Justice.

Barbara Davis Blum, Treasurer

Washington, D.C.
Davis Blum is the president of BDB Investment Partnership in Washington D.C. and was the deputy administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Brenda L. Kingery (Chickasaw), Vice-Chair

San Antonio, TX
Kingery is the founding member of the Threads of Blessing International, and travels to Honduras, Mexico, and Uganda to teach textile and design in workshops that encourage women in developing countries to use their indigenous artistic skills.

Cynthia Lamar Chavez

Cynthia Chavez Lamar (San Felipe Pueblo/Hopi/Tewa/Navajo), Member at Large

Santa Fe, NM
Chavez Lamar is currently the director of the Indian Arts Research Center (IARC) at The School for Advanced Research (SAR) on the Human Experience in Santa Fe.


Sonya Kelliher-Combs (Athabascan/Inupiaq)

Anchorage, AK
Sonya Kelliher-Combs is a contemporary mixed-media artist and Indigenous Arts Advocate, Educator, and Curator. She was born and raised in rural Alaska.

Joann Balzer

JoAnn Balzer

Santa Fe, NM
Santa Fe community leader and arts advocate, has more than twenty years of non-profit management, museum and fund-raising experience. She has long been a supporter of the contemporary expressions of Native American arts and cultures.

Georgia Ignace

Georgianna Ignace (Menominee)

Brookfield, WI
Ignace is a former teacher, public relations consultant, and president of the board of directors for the Menominee Nation Tribal College.

Kristine Miller

Boulder, CO
Miller is a partner in Holland and Hart’s Boulder, Colorado office focusing her legal practice on trademark, copyright, and marketing and promotions law.

James Santini

James D. Santini

Washington, D.C.
Santini is the Washington, D.C. representative for the National Tour Association and the Conference of National Park Concessionaires. He also served four terms in the U.S. House of Representatives between 1975 and 1986.

Deborah Goodman

Deborah Goodman (Caddo/Cherokee), Secretary

Oklahoma City, OK

Dr. Deborah Downing Goodman is an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Oklahoma (OU), a community volunteer, and a former health educator. Her academic research has focused on culturally sensitive curriculum programming.

Barbara Ells

Barbara J. Ells

Boulder, CO
While raising her family, Barbara was active in each of their communities in both political as well as Women’s issues including opening and teaching in three different Head-Start pre-schools.

Ex-Officio Members