IAIA - Institute of American Indian Arts

Associated Student Government

 

Statement of Purpose

Students at the Institute of American Indian Arts are members of the Associated Student Government of IAIA. The ASG is funded by the student government fee that all students pay each semester. The ASG was chartered to give students representation in the College community and offers a variety of services and opportunities for expression, leadership and involvement. It represents the student in decision making and is an important link between the student, the faculty and administration. The President of ASG is an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

ASG Constitution

ASG Constitution 2012 (download file icon, 60.5 KiB)

Meeting Times

  • ASG meets every week on Tuesdays at 12 p.m. in the CLE Commons
  • Meetings include reports from Student Life and Academics

For more information, contact ASG President Tahnee Ahtoneharjo-Growingthunder at tgrowingthunder@iaia.edu; or Student Activities Coordinator and ASG Advisor Nocona Burgess at 424-2339 or nburgess@iaia.edu. Other ASG advisors include Dean of Students Carmen Henan, chenan@iaia.edu, and Housing Director Carol Chatham-Reed, creed@iaia.edu.

2013-14 Officers

President – Tahnee Ahtoneharjo-Growingthunder, tgrowingthunder@iaia.edu
Vice-President – Chelsea Benally, cbenally@iaia.edu
Secretary – George “Dusty” Webb, gwebb@iaia.edu
Treasurer – Donna Martinez, dmartinez@iaia.edu
Public Relations Officer – Duhon James, djames@iaia.edu

ASG Department and Class Representatives:
Freshman Class: Tayloure Baker
Sophomore Class: Mitchell O’Daye
Junior Class: Candace Castillo
Senior Class: Louva Hartwell
Museum Studies: Julie Schonchin
Studio Arts: Laura Gorman
New Media Arts: Jamelyn Ebelacker
Indigenous Liberal Studies: Hihanska Hoksila Haney
Creative Writing: Claver Garcia
Off Campus: Adrian Wall

Follow ASG on